Books, The Raven & Other Poems and Tales by Edgar Allan Poe

The Raven & Other Poems and Tales bookThe poem “The Raven” published by Edgar Allan Poe in 1845 is one of my favorites. The author orphaned at the age of two in Boston lived a short life dying at the age of forty in 1849. Even though his poetry and short stories never received the popularity they did until after he was gone, I believe have now found their place in literature.

I have a hardback book that was published in 2001 by Bullfinch Press/Little, Brown and Company with  full version of “The Raven” along with many other stories written by Poe, i.e. “The Black Cat” – “The Pit and the Pendulum” – “Annabel Lee” and “The Fall of the House of Ushe” compiled inside. All the illustrations are by Daniel Alan Green.

The Raven by Edgar Allan Poe: “ Once upon a midnight dreary, while I pondered, weak and weary…

You did know “Tis the wind and nothing more”  – didn’t you?

 

 Written by Mary Gilmartin, June 9, 2014

15 Comments

Filed under Authors, Books

15 responses to “Books, The Raven & Other Poems and Tales by Edgar Allan Poe

  1. Only becoming famous after you die – the writer’s wyrd!
    David

  2. Kev

    You’ve gotta love a bit of Poe! 😀

  3. That poem bring back memories! Enjoyed your post. And thanks so much for stopping by my blog site.

  4. This is wonderful. I have a “Collected Stories and Poems” of Edgar Allan Poe with nary an image nor drawing…not the most inviting book to read! I actually took it out again when “The Following” came out on TV as there were many references to Poe. I too, love this one..

    • He is an interesting author. I can’t say that I like all his works, but the ones in this new collection I found are good. In an old volume from 1901 I find a sequel to “The Murders in the Rue Morgue” called “The Mystery of Marie Roget”.

  5. I recently was given a 5 volume set of complete works of EAP. These must be much of his lesser known works and as I read through some of the short stories I was very surprised that I found them very tedious and boring with so much verbosity and convolution. I finished two stories(a most arduous task) three I stopped after a few pages and then passed the whole set on to someone else. It’s probably me – I can’t stomach Joyce or Eliot either. On the other hand I read and enjoyed every single piece written by E R Burroughs, H G Wells, A C Doyle and Herman Hesse by age 24. Presently reading AZTEC by Gary Jennings – absolutely memorized and liked Jack Whyte’s CAMULOD CHRONICLES, post Roman Britain series.

  6. This looks a wonderful edition – the cover drawing is fantastic. I so like it that I searched for a copy on Amazon which I will definitely purchase. Interestingly, the UK edition has a different cover:
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/The-Raven-Other-Poems-Tales/dp/0821227726
    Thanks for highlighting this.

    • You’re welcome, glad you like it, too. Your great UK cover print is featured inside my copy. All the b/w illustrations inside are good. It’s my pleasure sharing this find. And, now I’m prompted to find my other edition books of Poe’s works in my library which I located in my old books section. They’re 2 volumes (1 & 4) of the Cameo Edition (in 10 volumes) published by Funk & Wagnalls Company, NY and UK, from 1901.

  7. I’ve always found it interesting that he invented the detective story. I love his stories and poems. Nice tribute.

Leave a Reply

