Books by Robert Louis Stevenson

It’s possible that one of Robert Louis Stevenson’s most popular books was the one that published in 1883, called “Treasure Island” because it captivates the imagination of the reader.

And, what better cover for a book could you find than the one I found below illustrated by Frances Brundage?

001 Treasure Island book

Another Robert Louis Stevenson book that I have always liked is the following; perhaps, simply because I like the first lines to Chapter 1:

Kidnapped 

I will begin the story of my adventures with a certain morning early

in  the month of June, the year of grace 1751,

when I took the key for the last time out of the door of my father’s house.

This historical fiction adventure novel by the Scottish author, Robert Louis Stevenson written as a boys’ novel and first published in the magazine Young Folks from May to July 1886. A sequel, Catriona, published in 1893 is also an adventure story about David Balour, an orphan, who is cheated out of his inheritance by his uncle and schemes to have him kidnapped and sold into slavery. The story is full of adventure with a shipwreck and a dangerous journey across Scotland with justice finally being achieved.

Kidnapped by RLS 001 copy

My copy of this book comes from a publisher series from The Home Library that is not dated. And, according to some information I found, it seems my book is probably from 1898, since most volumes are not dated.” (In 1890 a traveling salesman started the publishing series of ‘the world’s best books’ which became known as A.L. Burt Company, Inc. 1902-1937.)

Written and Photographed by Mary Gilmartin, November 20, 2013

4 Comments

Filed under Authors, Books

4 responses to “Books by Robert Louis Stevenson

  1. I love the creative front matter in older books. It is so very decorative. Shows that they truly valued the production. My paperback is almost ready. Can’t say that I am 100% satisfied. I am picky, and I have been working with CreateSpace for six months. I am ready now. 🙂

  2. As I child I loved the Wallace Beery as Long John Silver movie. The part was made for him and he for it.

Leave a Reply

