Music, Remember Vinyl Records?

Does anyone remember the days of vinyl records? Today I found a couple of albums that brought back memories from the days when I listened to them being played on a record player.

One record is by the American pop singer Andy Williams and on this album he sings the song Love Theme from The Godfather  released by Columbia Records on March 21, 1972. The album cover looks well-worn but the record inside is still in perfect condition. When I first looked at the cover and saw those beautiful blue eyes, I thought it was Old Blue Eyes. But, then I remembered it was Frank Sinatra that had coined that name.

1- Andy Williams - Love Theme From the Godfather - Record Cover

The other vinyl record called “Moonlight and Keyboard”  is one that I have always liked. There’s something classic about the cover of this album with a photograph of a girl sitting on a sofa with the moonlight shining through the window.  I remember listening to the works of some of the nineteenth-century composers like Claude Dubussy and Frédéric Chopin along with other composers like Schumann, Liszt, and Rubinstein recorded on this album.

Greensleeves, a traditional arrangement by Lewenthall, is still one of my favorites pieces. Perhaps because it’s one of the first compositions I learned to play on the piano a long time ago.

1-Moonlight and Keyboard - Raymond Lewenthal -Record cover

These are only a couple of the vinyl records from the days of the 33 1/3 RPM moments for LP albums. Some still believe the vinyl record is a better quality recording. The answer lies in the difference between analog and digital recordings. A vinyl record is an analog recording, and CDs and DVDs are digital recordings.

Written by Mary Gilmartin, September 4, 2013

27 Comments

September 4, 2013 · 11:04 pm

27 responses to “Music, Remember Vinyl Records?

  1. I remember that album, Mary!

  2. There is something magical about the music of the past. I remember playing the vinyl records from my uncle’s selection. Me and my sisters would dance, dream and just jump with excitement everyone. Love the old, nostalgic memories.

  3. Hello Mary 🙂 You have waken up some nostalgia in me. I started handling vinyl records when I was 3 to listen to recorded fairy tales… I miss the vinyl a lot despite of/ or for scratchy sounds that many of my abused records were producing. I love Morricone and have another gem for you if you are interested to listen … http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tglk0PkdGOo

    • Thanks, Paula. What a wonderful recording of a song by the Italian composer, Ennio Morricone, with the Portuguese singer, Dulce Pontes. There are some great vinyl recordings out there and I remember the days of those fairy tales ones.

  4. I like that post. Thank you – well, reminds of old times …

  5. I wish I had my records when I was a teen! The “Grassroots” were one of my favs!

  6. Of course I do, Mary :). Sad that I had to give away my entire set of Alfred Brendl playing Beethoven’s Sonatas when I moved to Canada over 20 years ago. Anyway, my son is collecting these vinyl and has found a turn-table to play them.

  7. love them! Have started to revisit several and record shops are like a treasure chest to spend time in.

  8. We still had boxes full with our vinyl records,stored carefully. After dragging them along move after move, our youngest son best friend/college room mate who is also very talented in music showed a great interest. He had just bought a record player! Since his fundings are limited and he is a lovely boy, we donated the records to him. It is great to hear ‘our’ music in their appartment now and have explained to us why these albums are so good ;0) So much better than seeing them pining away in boxes!

    • It sounds like your carefully stored vinyl records have found a place where someone will take care of them, outside of the boxes. I’m sure he’s enjoying listening to some good music from your albums.

  9. we still have quite a few of them – and an old radiogram

  10. Great post! I remember it a little.. people said that the sound was much better on vinyl recordings more “authentic”. (But I was about 10-11 when I got a cd-player) The vinyl pics are nice, it looks like you really loved them! (well used)

  11. Yes….I remember.
    And my dad searching for a new “needle” that would make the sound more clear.

  12. I have dozens of old vinyl records. I sold off quite a few years ago. I never play these, but can’t part with them!

Leave a Reply

