A Surprise at Nature’s Pond

When I took a walk early this morning, I didn’t know that a surprise would be waiting for me near the pond.  The trail leading into the woods provided several photographic opportunities that I captured using the macro feature on my camera. And then, a Tiger Swallowtail Butterfly surprised me when it landed on a Joe-Pye weed waiting for me to take its photograph.

Yet, a bigger surprise was waiting for me farther down the trail. That’s when I walked past a mother and father fishing off the dock with their two children playing nearby.  “Why are you taking pictures of the grass,” the older child asks with interest. “It’s not the grass that I’m photographing,” I reply smiling. “The lens of my camera is actually focused on that tiny purple flower on the ground.”  She immediately became my assistant suggesting other things that I could photograph.  Below is the photographic story. And, just in case you don’t recognize what’s in her hand, it’s a baby snail she found in the dirt. Afterwards she gently placed it back where she found it.

“Do you live around here?” I ask. “No, we’re from Burma,” the young girl answers handing me a yellow flower to remember our visit.

6-053 Walk August 3, 2013

3-032 Walk August 3, 20135-041 Walk August 3, 2013

4-034 Walk August 3, 20132-021 Walk August 3, 20137-060 Walk August 3, 20138-063 Walk August 3, 20139-066 Walk August 3, 201310-070- A Snail in the Mud-Walk August 3, 201311-066-2-Walk August 3, 2013Written and Photographed by Mary Gilmartin, August 3, 2013

6 Comments

August 3, 2013 · 9:18 pm

6 responses to “A Surprise at Nature’s Pond

  1. Very beautiful “grass” photos. 🙂 My favorite photo is the third from the top. Wonderful photo report!

  2. How beautiful. Two children are similar to my daughters because they like gathering flowers and so on. 😀

  3. What a magical meeting. Enjoy the camera – looks fantastic to be able to get these images – love the top flower heads against the pond.

Leave a Reply

