Photography, Artistic posing with a book

Old photographs to me sometimes look like paintings. I don’t know any of the people featured in any of the ones I find and collect…but, there’s always something artistic featured in the pose or the background that attracts my attention.

This first one I didn’t buy because I think it might be just a clipping from a magazine of days gone by.  However, that didn’t stop me from asking the antique shop owner for permission to photograph it.

4-Old Photo copy

The second one I did buy and put it in my collection. What I like most about this photograph is the girl sitting in the middle posing with an opened book while her brother and sister stand on either side. Take a closer look at the chair she is sitting in.

Old photograph of Sisters and Brothers reading a book

Written and Photographed by Mary Gilmartin, August 2, 2013

2 Comments

August 2, 2013 · 12:13 am

2 responses to “Photography, Artistic posing with a book

  1. I love both of these shot for different reasons.
    Terry

  2. Wow. History fulfils mind when looking at these photos.

Leave a Reply

