Books, Scouting for Girls in the United States

The Girl Scouts is an organization founded in 1912, a hundred years ago in the United States, by Juliette Gordon Low who was born in Savannah, Georgia. When my daughter was growing up she first became a member of the Daisy Girl Scouts, then Brownies and Juniors earning her badges.  You did know that the Girl Scout motto is “Be prepared,” didn’t you?”

In my collection of old books I found  a couple of official handbooks of the Girl Scouts with publication dates of 1926 and 1951.

1-Scouting for Girls Official handbook 1926

1-Girl Scout books 002

2-Brownie handbook 1951

Written and Photographed by Mary Gilmartin, August 1, 2013

6 Comments

August 1, 2013 · 12:57 am

6 responses to “Books, Scouting for Girls in the United States

  1. This is too funny that you posted about this! I’ve been wanting for quite some time to research what my badges were that I earned as a child. I finally went out to eBay and bought a Junior Girl Scout manual (the blue one) very close to the year that I was in Scouts. I just got it a few days ago and am looking forward to browsing through it.

    Juliette Gordon Low was a woman very much ahead of her time in society. Women weren’t sweet little fainting things – she didn’t denigrate housekeeping either, but women were to be self-reliant and self-sufficient.

    The current CEO was in Richmond yesterday and gave a nice talk. Apparently there is a waiting list of girls wanting to get into Girl Scouts but not enough clubs to accommodate them. I was surprised to hear that.

    Nancy

    • Nancy, somewhere packed away for safe keeping is my daughter’s Girl Scout sash with all of her badges, pins and insignias. A good project one day would be for me to browse through one of her handbooks to identify them and at the same time locate all those photographs of her in her uniform. I wonder if I have one of when they went camping and learned so many outdoor things. And, then I could put together a memoir book for her about that era. Thanks for commenting and for the inspiration.

  2. I love Girl Scouts. I was one, both my daughters were Scouts and I was a leader. Great memories! What lovely books you have. Girl Scouts – Where Girls Grow Strong!

  3. Here is a coincidental fact – Baden Powell wrote Scouting for Boys at one of his first scout camps he stablished at Chollerford. It is as about 4 miles up the road from where we live near Hexham, Northumberland.

    • What a wonderful coincident. I immediately recognize the name Sir Robert (later Lord) Baden-Powell, the founder of Boy Scouting. I read about him in my daughter’s handbook,(Worlds to Explore, page 24), where it talks about “Daisy (Juliette Gordon Low) meeting “B.P.” in 1911 at a luncheon in England. It also mentions that he rewrote the handbook, Scouting for Boys, and called it How Girls Can Help Build Up the Empire. The name was changed from Scouts to Guides for use by the girls’ movement. When Baden-Powell visited Daisy in Scotland in August 1911, she heard about the Scouting movement for girls”…She started other Girl Guide troops in London before sailing to America to begin the first American Girl Guide troop.” PS: Now, I wonder if some of those old boy scout books I gave to their group a long time ago were written by Baden Powell…

Leave a Reply

