Sculpture, The Flea

Did you know that you don’t have to go to a flea market to find a “flea sculpture?”  I found mine on a shelf at a thrift store. It was just $1.51 plus tax – what a bargain.

This one created by Greg Quayle is ” Computer, with mallet.”  That’s a great name because the action this sculpture depicts is exactly how I feel about my computer when I get frustrated. You might want to check out the Original FLEA , Quayle Metal Sculptures, to see more of this artist’s interesting “flea sculptures.”

I wonder if the one that I found is from 1983 (the date stamped on the bottom). I’m always grateful to find markings on a sculpture that make it easy to find the artist.

2-Greg Quayle Metail Sculpture 1983

Written and Photographed by Mary Gilmartin, July 30, 2013

10 Comments

July 30, 2013 · 12:09 am

10 responses to “Sculpture, The Flea

  1. My, my! This is a good one – actually – love it!

  2. I had to laugh–even without a date you could probably guess that this was pre-2000 by the old fashioned CRT monitor!

    • You’re right-that monitor does date it. And, pre-anything makes those dinosaurs seem ancient. Maybe it’s time to replace my LCD now with some recent technology. I’m glad it made you laugh. Now, that’s something we need to do every day.

  3. This is absolutely cute! I would love to have one. 😉

  4. I love this! What an awesome sculpture. 🙂

  5. I saw a collection of these before, in Hawaii many years ago!
    So cute.

    • Evidently the artist who created these flea sculptures has distribution in lots of places . That little guy(the flea) with his tongue hanging out is certainly a cute invention. Thanks for commenting.

Leave a Reply

