Horse-in-the-Pasture, Updated

Six months ago on December 20, 2012 a horse-in-the-pasture© was my inspiration for writing a short story. You can read it on this link and find out what happened when I was sixteen years old.  Today I decided to take a break from editing, Book 2 in the trilogy, and drive over to the pasture for a visit.  There’s where I found, not one, but two horses grazing on grass. When they saw me, they eagerly pranced over to greet me.  I immediately recognized the butterfly mark on my friend’s face, but I’m puzzled about why he is wearing a blinder.

Note: DawnSeeker, from Soul Horse Ride, has agreed to be our Horse Expert about this puzzling blinder that is actually called a “fly mask”. Scan down to the bottom of the comments section and read some interesting facts about their purpose. Thank you, Dawn, for commenting and the information. Much appreciated.

2-Horse-Mirrored Image 07-24-2013

1-Butterfly horse 07-24-2013

1-Horse 07-24-2013

3-Butterfly horse 07-24-2013

2-Butterfly horse 07-24-2013

“I whispered over the fence, “I’ve decided to call you Metamorphosis.”

He nodded his head with approval and smiled.

Note: Metamorphosis of the butterfly symbolizes significant change in the course of one’s life, personality or way of thinking.

Written and Photographed by Mary Gilmartin, July 24, 2013

29 Comments

July 24, 2013 · 10:37 pm

29 responses to “Horse-in-the-Pasture, Updated

  1. Gorgeous pictures. I miss seeing horses regularly like I did growing up. I used to go by a farm on the way to school every day as a high school student. I miss that.

    • Glad you like the pictures and I know what you mean. After I moved to the city I saw farms less frequently. But, fortunately there is one place nearby that still has a pasture with horses in them.

      • We visited a woman who had a horse that was adorable. She had bred dogs, and she had raised her morgan like a dog, and it really had a lot of dog characteristics. It was loving and followed her around and would just stand and be groomed for hours. That was such a delight.

  2. Although my granddaughter is riding and has her own mare, I have not heard about fly mask.

  3. Nice post Mary. I don’t have fly masks on my horses for the first time this year. I don’t know how they feel about it, but they seem pretty happy either way.

  4. It’s called a fly mask. They come in different varieties, some with “ears” attached to keep flies out of the horses’ ears (a favorite place for a fly attack, along with around their eyes), and some have a long “nose” which helps with horses who are sensitive to sunlight. Yes, they can get sunburned! If a horse has pink skin instead of gray (pink is usually found under white hair) that pink skin can burn and get quite scabbed over. So there’s your quickie tutorial on fly masks!

  5. So beautiful horses and wonderful environment!

  6. Oh, the blunder is to keep the annoying flies away from the eyes, and the blinder is not as blinding as it seems from a distance, it is pretty transparent for the horse.

  7. It’s just to keep the flies off she can see fine through it.

  8. Metamorphosis is the perfect name for the horse. I’m also very curious about the blinder.

  9. artscottnet

    Beautiful horses. I’m extremely curious as to what the blinder is for! Is it to keep her calm?

    • Thanks, and some of our other readers answered our question. It’s to keep the flies away from the eyes.

      • Yes, I’ll be your “Horse Expert” to explain the puzzling “blinder”.

        This is a fly mask — the horse sees through it just fine. Unfortunately, flies think of horse’s eyes as little ponds of water. They drink the water and irritate the eyes (they can lay eggs there, too). Some horses are more sensitive and must wear a mask or suffer great problems.

        Years ago before these nifty mesh-masks were invented, people would tie strips of leather over the forelock area that dangled near the eyes, hopefully knocking flies away. (These really didn’t work very well, through.)

        Horse lovers can visit my horse blog — where you can join me for a “Virtual Ride” 🙂

        http://soulhorseride.wordpress.com/

    • artscottnet

      Thank you, Mary, Dawnseeker and everyone. That’s a relief as I was feeling very sorry for her, now I’m happy she can see OK, fewer worries with the flies, less stress overall and maybe a kind human to feed her an extra sweet apple! (or whatever horses like to snack on) =)

      • You’re welcome. I’ll make sure that I take an apple for “Metamorphosis” when I visit. Maybe she won’t have the fly mask on the next time I see her.

Leave a Reply

