Walking the Railroad Track

12-“Coreopsis”

My walk today took me off my normal path up a hill between the pine trees on a well-worn trail.

2-

After I reached the top of the hill I saw a pile of cross-ties stacked on top of each other creating a barrier on the railroad track.

4-

That’s when I looked over all the rubble and saw that the bridge going over the road fenced off, meaning no trains travel this extension of the tracks anymore.

5-

Then, up ahead the railroad tracks split with one going to the left and the other to the right.  I decided to follow the railroad track that lead to the left.

6-

After I passed the bend I found an open field with a sign posted that read: ” Native Plant Habitat.” That’s when I ventured off the railroad track to look for the native plants.

10-

Now, I find myself now among the wildflowers and the berries finding nature at her best.

15-

“Yellow Daisies”…

11-1Blackberries”

13-

A tall burgundy tipped plant, its name I do not know…

8-

“Commelina Dayflower”

16-

And, then it was time to end my one mile walk along the railroad tracks. It looks like it’s going to rain any minute so I better head back having made a full circle.

Written and Photographed by Mary Gilmartin, July 5, 2013

8 Comments

Filed under Atlanta, Walking

8 responses to “Walking the Railroad Track

  1. Oh, your pictures are wonderful! Lush, colorful, so real I want to reach out for them. Excellent!

  2. I have dayflowers in my yard and love them, but never knew what they were! The split tracks photo is unusual–it almost looks a bit kaleidoscopic. The symmetry is quite unexpected.

    • The flowers off the trail were great to photograph especially the dayflowers.. And, I couldn’t resist getting a shot of the split in the railroad tracks. I thought it looked like a mirrored image. Glad you stopped by.

  3. You have taken me through a very interesting trail. Love the plant habitat pictures.

Leave a Reply

