An Eventful June Day

1-2
Being productive and accomplishing everything that’s on my schedule is usually my daily plan.  But, on occasion plans don’t go as expected and schedules get changed just like mine did today. It’s unusual that I don’t feel good and making a trip across town was certainly not on my schedule. So, to make a long story short the pain in my ear prompted me to visit my family doctor. But, this did not stop me from taking some photographs and trying to enjoy the day with my young grandson.

Since the same day appointment wasn’t until one o’clock, we had lunch at his favorite spot. The kid’s meal included a Hot Wheel toy, a motorcycle; however, my lunch was simple, a cup of coffee. It was interesting watching him glue the decals one by one on the motorcycle making sure the placement was correct before he would eat his lunch.

Once in front of the medical building, a bouquet of flowers in full bloom welcomed us.

1-

1-1

2- 1-copy

Just before we entered into the lobby of the doctor offices I shot a quick self-portrait in the mirrored front glass door. (You should try it sometime holding a notebook in one arm and extending the camera at a low angle with the other hand.)

3-1

Inside, I remembered the horse on the wall when I was here the last time. It’s a nice painting.

4-

The day ended with a heavy rain shower followed by the most beautiful puffy white clouds.  Do you see the face of the “cloud man” in the sky?…it’s the lower cloud with the pointed up nose and a smile on its face.

Written and Photographed by Mary Gilmartin, June 29, 2013

14 Comments

Filed under Photography, Writing

14 responses to “An Eventful June Day

  1. Nice that you can notice beautiful things on your way to a scary appointment (all doctors’ visits are scary for me). Hope everything is fine.

    • Sorry that doctor’s visits scare you. I find them just a necessary part of living. And, everything is good now a week later after a prescription of some medication. Life is good.

  2. Ah…we plan and yet our days take twists and turns….:)

  3. Superb cloud face – I wonder if we are seeing the same one – mine looks a bit monkey-like 🙂

  4. I absolutely love rudbekia (and that may not be the correct spelling)! Those charming little flowers thrive even with neglect — I should know! Thanks for sharing that close-up at the top. http://ohtheplaceswesee.com

    • “Rudbeckia” is the plant genius for this great plant. I believe most know them as “black-eyed-susans.” They’re really noticeable with their golden heads. I remember seeing them growing wild in the meadows when I was a small child. They’ve always been one of my favorite flowers. I like the way this grouping was curling their petals under, maybe it was because the sun was hot. The close-up certainly gives a better view. I’m glad you like them too.

  5. Hope you are feeling better now, and it’s good that the day ended with a bright sky.

  6. Hope the Doctor’s visit was worthwhile…

    • Yes, it was. Sometimes you have to stop what you are doing and visit the Doctor. Over the years I’ve found it better to take care of those pains when they happen that very first day rather than waiting thinking they will go away.

Leave a Reply

