The Girl Who Loved Wild Horses

When I discovered the illustrated book “The Girl Who Loved Wild Horses”  I bought it. Now that I’ve read it, I’m going to frame it and hang it on my wall because… “It reminds me how free and beautiful wild horses are.”

1-2013-Paul Goble-The Girl who loved wild horses -front cover

“The Girl Who Loved Wild Horses”received the 1979 Caldecott Medal for U.S. picture book illustration. The author, Paul Goble,  a native of England studied at the Central School of Art in London

[1] In 1977, he moved to the Black Hills in South Dakota and was adopted by Chief Edgar Red Cloud. Goble was greatly influenced by Plains Indian culture

[2]and his subsequent children’s books reflect this.”I feel that I have seen and learned many wonderful things from Indian people which most people would never have the opportunity to experience. I simply wanted to express and to share these things which I love so much.” Source: Wikipedia

(Written on the back cover of my book:)”There was a girl in the village who loved horses; she understood them in a special way.  What she wanted was to live among the wild horses where she could be truly happy and free. Will her people let her go?”

.And, here are some  great blogs that I like that feature horses:

1) Wild in the Pryors, A Blog about the Pryor Mountain Wild Horses 2) Sotardalen Nokota Horses, Nokota horses on the west coast of Sweden 3)Alli Farkas Artist Adventureswho’s been drawing and painting horses since she was five.
Written by Mary Gilmartin, June 18, 2013

10 Comments

Filed under Art, Authors, Books, Horses

10 responses to “The Girl Who Loved Wild Horses

  1. Ah, now you’re in my territory, speaking of books anyway. Hadn’t seen this one, probably because I was way too old for it when it was published! That’s an Appaloosa on the book cover. They were bred by the Nez Perce Indians in the Pacific Northwest. When the gold rush started and the government tried to move the Indians to Idaho, it was the start of a long conflict in which most of the horses died, were lost, stolen or simply disappeared. Fortunately some decades later a few dedicated horsemen located some of them and began breeding them in the same careful way the Nez Perce had done. Today they’re a fairly common breed easily recognizable by their signature spots–some as a blanket on the rump, others as an overall pattern on the entire body.
    Oh, and by the way, thanks so much for the link to my blog!!

    • Yes, I am in horse territory and thanks for the information about the Appaloosa on the cover of the book. And, since you love horses I especially wanted to mention the link to your blog.

  2. What a wonderful book. I will look for it. Love your blog, and
    I’ve nominated you for a Super Sweet Blogging Award here:
    http://friendlyfairytales.com/2013/06/18/cupcakes-for-friendly-fairy-tales/
    Not everyone agrees that accepting the award is worth the effort, but whether or not you decide to accept, please accept my appreciation of your wonderful blog!

    • I’m glad you like reading my postings and thanks for the nomination; however, I don’t participate in any of the awards. My focus is more directed towards spending my extra time writing more stories.

      • I hear you. It’s hard to balance it all. I need to write more also, and may have to take a break from awards myself soon.

  3. How beautiful. Sorry that I missed this book growing up. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

