Art: William Steig (1907-2003)

The book “The Lonely Ones” written and illustrated by William Steig was published in 1942.  It’s 102 pages contain only single illustrations with a lined explanation on the opposite page, i.e. “I do what is expected of me” or “I will review my thoughts  just once more.”  In this book of a series of impressions of people, some of them are humorous while others are bizarre. I’m not sure where I found this book, but it’s been in my bookcase for a long time.

1-The Lonely Ones by William Steig

William Steig (November 14, 1907 – October 3, 2003) was a prolific American cartoonist, sculptor and, later in life, an illustrator and writer of popular children’s literature. Most noted for the picture books Sylvester and the Magic Pebble, Abel’s Island and Doctor De Soto, he was also the creator of Shrek!, who inspired the popular movie series of the same name. Steig received acclaim not only for the quality of his illustrations but for the gracefulness of his prose style. The New York Times said Steig was “triumphant in the quality of his prose.” Source: Wikipedia

Written by Mary Gilmartin, June 6, 2013

4 Comments

Filed under Art, Books, Writing

4 responses to “Art: William Steig (1907-2003)

  1. I love William Steig’s books–especially Dr. DeSoto. I carry the image of the poor fox with his teeth glued together, leaving without the anticipated meal.

    Thanks for visiting my blog, and for the follow.

  2. Amazing the emotions that can be portrayed with simple pen and ink

Leave a Reply

