The world of Entomology

My trip down a walking path found me “face to face with a fuzzy little guy” hanging from an invisible string from a tree. When I picked him up and took him home with me I didn’t know I would be entering the world of entomology that day.

1- Day - It comes home with me -Resized

After checking many sources trying to identify this colorful active caterpillar,  I’ve come to this conclusion that he is:“The forest tent caterpillar, Malacosoma disstria. It can be distinguished by the keyhole-shaped spots along its back. Full-grown larvae have light-blue heads speckled with black and are sparsely covered with fine, whitish hairs.” Source: University Kentucky

Now that I know the adult will just be a “Moth” with two dark brown stripes on the front wings, I took him back and left him where I found him.

Written and Photographed by Mary Gilmartin, May 31, 2013

5 Comments

Filed under Photography, Walking

5 responses to “The world of Entomology

  1. Pingback: Say It Ain’t So « Not Another Gardening Blog

  2. Tent caterpillars eat everything inside their tent and then some. All that convenient food makes the caterpillars happy, I’m sure….but not so good for the trees!

  3. Are these the ones that coat branches with what looks like a sheet of finely spun mesh? I’ve seen that in my walks in the woods and have been told that it was the product of tent caterpillars, which makes sense when you think about what the construction looks like.

Leave a Reply

