Photography, Black & White (1947)

Sometimes I find old black & white photographs in a shop for sale and buy them. Recently  I found three  8 x 10’s dated 1947.  Even though I don’t know anybody in these photographs, I found them interesting because they came with a story taped on the bottom about a work accident that occurred with one industrial worker.

Below is a watercolor painting of a street scene in New Orleans from 1947. Someone had glued it on the back of one of these photographs.

B 004

B 003

B 005

“4. ANN FORST (2214), a coil winder at Archer, makes no effort to hide her emotion as she points to the goggles that protected her eyes when they were hit by a falling brake arm. (September 1947)”

B 006(The Accident Record)—is missing

Written by Mary Gilmartin, May 23, 2013

12 Comments

Filed under Art, History, Photography

12 responses to “Photography, Black & White (1947)

  1. Great shots, glad they’ve been saved.

  2. Brought back some unpleasant memories of my summer spent as a coil winder in an aircraft parts factory. I was so bored sitting there all day every day watching the counter spin up that I almost fell off my stool more than once. Eventually I begged for a task change and got assigned to a kind of rolling oven contraption where gauge needles were epoxied onto the coils and went through the oven to harden. The best part was I actually got to walk from one end of the oven to the other loading and unloading them. That was the only thing that kept me from falling over once again!

  3. Neat! A lot of history there. It would be sad to totally lose these images.

  4. What a beautiful hobby! Great post.

  5. What a wonderful find.

Leave a Reply

