The-Tree-People

My early morning walk this morning took me through the woods alongside the lake. I don’t have an explanation of what made the figures I kept seeing on the ground and even in the water around the trees, but I believe they are “The-Tree-People” ©.

Take a look and let me know what you think.

8-In the woods copy

2-In the woods

3-In the woods

4-In the woods

5 In the woods

Evidently I was not the only one who saw them this morning. You can see him peeking through the trees in the photograph below:

218 copy

1-In the woods

Written and Photographed by Mary Gilmartin, May 21, 2013

15 Comments

Filed under Photography, Walking

15 responses to “The-Tree-People

  1. Pingback: The-Tree-People, continued— | Mary Gilmartin

  2. So you had company on your walk! 🙂

  3. A walk in terrain such as this sends me into a trance and another time.

    • I, agree. I’ve walked this path before but, never noticed the-tree- people “until that morning when the early morning light spot-lighted and captured their beauty and mystery”.

  4. Wonderful! Our world is magical.

  5. Diana Dawson Plattner

    They’re called “cypress knees.” 🙂

    • Thanks for dropping by and identifying them. PS: After your ID with the name, I wanted to learn more and here’s what I found on an external link that has a great article called “An Enduring Enigma” written about the Cypress Knees by Christopher H. Briand, Associate Professor in the Department of Biological Sciences, Salisbury State University, in Maryland:
      http://arnoldia.arboretum.harvard.edu/pdf/articles/606.pdf

      • Diana Dawson Plattner

        Interesting stuff — thanks for sharing that. I had no idea there was a real mystery involved. Maybe they really *are* tree people, and that’s why no one can get a handle on their biological cause. 😉

  6. Yep. Definitely a tree-people… Nice shots

  7. Please let us know if you ever discover what they are. In Africa I would say termite mounds but some of these look like mushrooms ready to let out their umbrella or caps, whatever you call the top part…
    Otherwise you are down to goblins. The internet has several of them : a musical band (I know nothing about that), some save-the-earth groups, and what else ‘tree people’: arborists, gardeners, etc. – I feel very ignorant, please educate me on the subject!

Leave a Reply

