Mother’s Day 2013

Last year for Mother’s Day I wrote an article about the meaning of the red and white rose. It told about a Southern tradition that was special to me when I was growing up. You can read it on this link here.

Twelve months have passed with Mother’s Day this year falling on May 12. making it a special time to celebrate motherhood, to appreciate mothers and mother figures. Many people give gifts such as cards, flowers or candy, while others share a meal in a restaurant with their mother and mother figures, including grandmothers, great-grandmothers, stepmothers, and foster mothers.

One of the things I did every year was to make sure to mail my mother a hand-written card to celebrate this day.  And, when she was alive I tried to spend as many Mother’s Days as I could with her. However, this year counts four years that I will “not” be mailing a card to her, yet it doesn’t stop me from thinking about her or remembering her on this special day as I do every day.

On my desk sits a figurine that symbolizes only “one” of the things my mother meant to me.  On the base is written the word “teacher.” For me, Mother was my first teacher.  She was the one who taught me the difference between good and bad along with so many other things.

Mother and Child 2013 copy

So, as Mother’s Day approaches I hope everyone will honor their mother.

 Honor your father and your mother, that your days may be long upon the land which the Lord your God is giving you: Exodus 20:12

Written and Photographed by Mary Gilmartin, May 5, 2013

6 Comments

Filed under Holidays

6 responses to “Mother’s Day 2013

  1. That is a wonderful, loving post my friend. Your mother smiles with joy as she reads your letter. Happy Mother’s Day. I wish you all the happiness every moment of everyday.

  2. artscottnet

    I was so glad to see you include mother figures. Family crisis and bad choices split my family when I was four. I am always thankful for those that took on the role of mother. The figure and message is wonderful.

  3. Yes. If we can’t give them gifts, we can remember them

Leave a Reply

