Old House in North Carolina

“If only walls could talk.”

Have you ever been driving down a country road and for a quick moment see something out of the corner of your eye that causes you to pause?  Of course you have and sometimes you stop, but most of the time you think you don’t have time and keep driving.

This weekend I drove past a set of steps leading up to “a house that someone once called home.”  It was standing at the top of a hill  against an overcast sky.  After pulling over and driving up the road to one side, something on the right side of the house caught my eye: the roof had caved in and a vine had somehow wound its way to the top of the roof. Since there was no-one around to ask, I can only assume it’s been deserted for a long time and will eventually rot away without anyone to care for it.

Now, if only walls could talk, I wonder what kind of story they would tell me about this deserted house?

008 copy

011 copy

012 copy

Written and Photographed by Mary Gilmartin, April 23, 2013

16 Comments

Filed under Photography, Writing

16 responses to “Old House in North Carolina

  1. Yes brilliant shots Mary. Lovely but sad…

  2. I think and feel the same way when I see old, abandoned, ruined houses. Once I bet, laughter filled its walls.

  3. Annie's Place

    Whenever I see houses like this, I too wonder what happened and what stories live with the structure.

  4. Reminds me of the time the boyfriend and I went with his parents to what they called “the old homestead” where his father grew up. It was in quite a bit of disarray, unoccupied. We were delighted to discover a few years later that it had been completely rehabbed!

  5. Being a North Carolinian myself, your title grabbed me. We do have some once-lovely homes that seem to have just been abandoned. I always wonder what happened and who the last person to live there was, what they did, and why their home is no longer cherished. Great post.

  6. Great post, thank You. Finally Mother Nature wins.

  7. What a story those walls to tell. Of love, laughter and loss. A most excellent post.

    “In matters of climbing long staircases, how many stairs there are is not as important as how strong a will you have!”
    Mehmet Murat ildan

    • Long staircases are wonderful things…”At the top of these stairs to this old house was a walkway with a few broken pavers remaining. I somehow felt the presence of the children who lived and walked here remembering how much strength it took to climb that staircase when they came home from school every day.”

  8. We leave our life fingerprints in architecture. Loved this post!

Leave a Reply

