The painting called “Fishing”

Who painted this? Arthur Hunter or Colin Hunter?

Litho - Fishing by Arthur Hunter-1

This is a  photograph of a lithograph  that I found discarded in a rain-soaked frame. At the bottom of this 8×10 is written “Fishing by Arthur Hunter”.

During the process of re-matting it to hang in my office, I became curious about the artist. Since  I couldn’t find anything written about an Arthur Hunter, I decided to take a  closer look at the name in the left hand corner. It was hard to read but with my close-up feature on my trusted camera, here’s what I saw: “COLIN HUNTER, 1864”

Fishing is actually by COLIN HUNTER 1864

Mystery solved, so the next step is to find out something about Colin Hunter.  Here’s what I found: He was a British painter and the BBC.CO.UK website has a public slide show of  more of his paintings, but I didn’t see this one called, Fishing, in there.

“I guess it doesn’t matter, what’s important is that I appreciate the artist’s painting and value mine, even though it’s not an oil on canvas. That’s why I rescued this paper Litho printing from the rain and hung it on my wall.

Now, it’s called “Fishing by COLIN HUNTER, 1864”.

Litho - Fishing by Arthur Hunter-1(Note): And, now I think I’ll print a copy of this posting and frame it behind this litho printing.  Who knows, perhaps a hundred years from now someone will discover it and read this note. Then, they will know the rest of this story.

Written and Photographed by Mary Gilmartin,  April 5, 2013

26 Comments

Filed under Art

26 responses to “The painting called “Fishing”

  1. I found a beautiful print of Fishing at a Habitat for Humanity store in Cleveland. It’s currently in a very ornate gold frame and my thinking is to reframe in a more fitting style. Will post a photo.

  2. Colin would have been 23 years old when he painted this, according to the date you found 1864. As for “Arthur” this is a complete mystery as Colin did not have a middle name. It is very puzzling that the original cannot be found and there is no reference to it. Colin Hunter was born in Scotland but moved to live in Kensington, London after he was married. He went on to become a famous Victorian artist and an associate member of the Royal Academy of Arts (“A.R.A”) where he successfully exhibited his works for many years.
    I would love to know more about the origin of “Fishing”.

    • Thanks for your comment about this painting. And, yes, I think everyone would like to know more about this; but, sometimes by not knowing, it creates more interest and certainly a mystery.

  3. we have the same painting hanging in our dining area,,,its 20 by 24in,,,we love it,thank you for your info on colin hunter…….we live in yellowknife nwt.

    • It is a great painting, isn’t it; and I’m glad to find others who have know about it. Where you live sounds like an interesting place up in Northwest Canada and I guess the name Yellowknife comes from the ‘Copper Indians’ or ‘Yellowknife Indians’ from that region. Visit again, you never know what else you might find in my postings. I try to keep them interesting with a bit of history surrounding them.

  4. My significant other (who has since passed away) brought home a print of “Fishing” that is 22″ x 28″ and is printed on some sort of heavy card stock. He found the print at a junk store and brought it to me because the two boys in the painting look so much like my two now grown sons when they were young — with about the same age difference between them — and the youngest son loves to fish! Truthfully, although I was impressed that Kelly was so thoughtful, I put the print aside because it was unframed and on cardboard, and I forgot about it. Kelly passed away on 1 June 2009 and I recently ran across the print and thought about donating it to the church yard sale. Out of curiosity, I tried to do some online research first. Your blog is the ONLY place this painting is mentioned! But I feel so lucky to have come across your post since I was looking for “Arthur Hunter.” I’m now going to have this print framed and will put a copy of your post on the reverse as you suggested. Thank you for reminding me what a lovely painting this actually is, and it is not only a reminder to me of my sons, but of my soulmate.

    • After reading your reply to my posting it’s great to hear that you are now keeping your copy of this wonderful painting. Maybe one day we will come across where the original is located, or perhaps it belongs to a private collector. You’re welcome for the reminder. PS: Check around and read some of my other postings. You never know what you might find or learn.

  5. WordsFallFromMyEyes

    Very intriguing – & someone a hundred years hence may, just may…

    • Yes, sometimes objects find their rightful owners and survive from generation to generation. I envision planting notes behind paintings add value to them, so I plan to write many and paste them to the back of objects I own so others will understand their significance.Thanks for visiting. Drop by anytime.

  6. Lovely art reminding from days gone by.

  7. Kev

    This reminds me of the pictures I used to have in my “Picturial Knowledge magazines my stepmother used to get me when I was a kid. It’s so similar! It could be Arthur is Colin’s middle name and he was called by that. My son’s name is John, but we always call him by his middle name: Wesley. Similarly, my dad was known to everyone as Dave, but his first name was acutally Irving. Who knows?

    • Possibly you are correct, as the thought had already crossed my mind. “The name we choose to call ourselves is always interesting, whether it’s the first, the middle or the last.”

  8. This is beautiful. And what loving care you showed in finding out about its history. And thank you for sharing the painter’s fine work with us. Thank you Mary. Sharon

  9. Amy

    Wonderful painting, love it!

  10. Annie's Place

    That’s a beautiful print. I would certainly has rescued it from the rain. Hard to believe what people throw away.

    • Yes, sometimes others don’t appreciate the beauty that they see before them. And, this reminds me of the Novelist, Margaret Wolfe Hungerford, who wrote: “Beauty is in the eye of the beholder.”

  11. Interesting picture and a very fine body of work in the BBC gallery. His work is reminiscent of the Newlyn School although he is not listed amongst that group of artists – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Newlyn_School

  12. that is a lovely painting! what a find! thanks for sharing! z

  13. This is lovely! Perhaps it’s an unknown painting of Colin Hunter’s.

Leave a Reply

