Easter Greetings 2013

Easter is Sunday, March 31st.

Colored Easter Eggs 2013 copy copy

 Easter Eggs

by Mary Gilmartin

“When I was a little girl my mother boiled a pot of eggs for Easter

And then, she would let me dye them with tablets of colors.

Soon my basket was soon filled with

  green, blue, orange,, yellow and  purple eggs.

But, of all the colors, the one I liked best was the color RED.

It's Easter-3

Did you know that Irving Berlin, an American composer, wrote the lyrics to a song considered one of the most popular Easter songs of all time? And, Bing Crosby sings it on this video here.

Easter Parade

In your Easter bonnet, with all the frills upon it,

You’ll be the grandest lady in the Easter parade.

I’ll be all in clover and when they look you over,

I’ll be the proudest fellow in the Easter parade.

On the avenue, fifth avenue, the photographers will snap us,

And you’ll find that you’re in the rotogravure.

Oh, I could write a sonnet about your Easter bonnet,

And of the girl I’m taking to the Easter parade.”

Written and Photographed by Mary Gilmartin, March 24, 2013

11 Comments

Filed under Holidays

11 responses to “Easter Greetings 2013

  1. Very colorful Easter eggs. All colors are selected with a good taste. In Finland it is also habit to paint them.

    Those people who are Orthodox they paint eggs artfully. Here is my post where at the end You find some examples:

    Orhodox icons.

  2. Beautiful Easter eggs. We used to paint them once they were hard boiled, and then roll them down a hill. Proper egg races!

  3. Beautiful colors, Mary! I miss having young children to dye Easter eggs with.

  4. When I was a kid the neighbors, who had five children, held an Easter egg hunt for all the neighborhood kids. As a joke, one of their sons put out a raw egg intending it to be found by the boy across the street from him. I got it instead. It was our fun habit to crack eggs against our heads to peel them. Guess what?

    • Oh, what fun to hunt for Easter eggs and see who can find the most. Of course, I wouldn’t want to get that raw one, especially if it was cracked on my head. I wonder if anyone ever played that same joke on him…

  5. I did not know that Irving Berlin wrote this song. BTW, I used to color eggs with the same tablets – wonderful memories….

Leave a Reply

