Authors, Jacqueline Bouvier

The book,”One Special Summer,” written and illustrated by Jacqueline and Lee Bouvier, a 1974 edition, I found today hiding behind some books in the oversized section of my home library.  So, I decided to sit down and read over it. And, then I started thinking about Jacqueline Bouvier who  later became known as “Jackie Kennedy” and why she wrote and illustrated this book with her sister.jacqueline-bouvier-1947On the back flap of the book, it reads: “We did this book in a state of joy and laughter, which was our mood throughout the trip,” writes Lee Bouvier Radziwill in her introduction to this book. “We split the fun: Jackie did the drawings, the poetry and the parts on Rome and Spain. I described most of our adventures__on the ‘Queen Elizabeth’, in London, Paris, Venice and Florence._I hope some of the fun is still there for you to enjoy.”

The writing ends with: “It’s all over now, September 15, 1951″…but, it wasn’t all over: it was only the beginning. We were to take other extraordinary trips together in the future. One of the most outstanding was Jackie’s trip to Rome, India and Pakistan in 1961 as the wife of the President of the United States__and I went with her.”…(L.B.R.)

Jackie KennedyI believe Jackie Kennedy was the most stylish first lady of our country, the United States of America, during her lifetime. Her fashionable dress and the outfits she wore certainly influenced many American women, “including my mother.” Both women somehow knew that simplicity was the most elegant. I remember my mother always left the house properly dressed from head to toe when I was a little girl. And, that included her gloves and wearing nylon stockings with high heel shoes.

In 1951, Jackie met John F. Kennedy and a year later they got married. He became the President of the United States in 1960, but was killed three years later in 1963.kennedy funeral

And, then five years later Jackie married the Greek, Aristoteles Onassis, who died in 1975.

I believe Jacqueline Bouvier Kennedy Onassis found her passion with writers in her later life. She passed away in her sleep in 1994 at the age of 64.

Written by Mary Gilmartin, March 18, 2013

Sources Wikipedia and Chic Vintage Brides: all Images from Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis

19 Comments

Filed under Authors

19 responses to “Authors, Jacqueline Bouvier

  1. Pingback: Jackie Kennedy’s Mid-Century Modern Luncheon: Part 5, Intention & Achievement « Carl Anthony Online

  2. Pingback: Jackie Kennedy’s Mid-Century Luncheon: Part 3, Reporter Bouvier on the Job « Carl Anthony Online

  3. Pingback: Jackie Kennedy’s Mid-Century Modern Luncheon: Part I, The Kodachrome Years « Carl Anthony Online

  4. An interesting post which reminded me of our 2012 visit to the Boston JFK Library – we had a couple of hours and could have spent the day there. As I am sure you know, the museum also has extensive sections on Jackie..

    • Thanks. I’ve always appreciated the wealth of information a museum stores and it would be great to spend all day in the JFK Library and museum. Guess I’ll put it on my list when I visit Boston the next time.

  5. So great. In Finland she is remembered very well and there has been her story in our national TV few years ago.

  6. I would have loved to have been along on that boat with those sisters. What fun!

  7. Big glasses were great, but pillbox hats never worked for me. Maybe because at the time I insisted on wearing my hair long?

  8. She is beautiful. But something really sad about her. Distracts me from her beauty and her fashion sense. Informative post, for me, at the very least as I don’t know much about her at all.

  9. My gosh, I did not realize she was so young when passing. Her glasses and bouffant hair were a trademark that many woman copied. She was stylish and I was far too young to appreciate her when she was the First Lady.

  10. A lovely piece Mary – my Mum and her generation were such ‘Jackie’ women – I can remember the dark oversized sunglasses and the stylish look. I just realised I have my black polo neck tied around my shoulders – so her influence goes on..

  11. An extraordinary woman, an extraordinary time. Great post.

Leave a Reply

