Authors, Dr. Theodor Seuss Geisel (1904-1991)

DR. SEUSS BOOKS 004Today, March 2, is the birthday for Dr. Seuss! …and “get ready to read across America” is being celebrated.  His  books are filled with imaginative characters and rhyme. In my collection of children’s books I found the following Seuss books:

“The 500 Hats of Bartholomew Cubbins” by Dr. Seuss: “In the beginning, Bartholomew Cubbins didn’t have five hundred hats.  He had only one hat. It was an old one that had belonged to his father and his father’s father before him. It was probably the oldest and the plainest hat in the whole Kingdom of Didd, where Bartholomew Cubbins lived.  But, Bartholomew liked it__especially because of the feather that always pointed straight up in the air.” …

DR. SEUSS BOOKS 003

“Horton Hears A Who?” by Dr. Seuss: On the fifteenth of May, in the Jungle of Nool, In the heat of the day, in the cool of the pool, He was splashing…enjoying the jungle’s great joys…When Horton the elephant heard a small noise.” …

 “My Book about Me” by ME, Myself with some help from mDR. SEUSS BOOKS 001y friends Dr. Seuss & Roy McKie:  This used book  once belonged to little girl named Kristine (that I do not know) given to her as a birthday gift back in 1971. Some of her answers inside this personal book are interesting…I have freckles …I live in the United States in Montana …My birthday is June 17 …My longest bike ride was 2 miles …My favorite sport is horseback riding …My favorite musical instrument is piano …I never talk in my sleep …When I grow up, I want to be a nun and a pianist.

Let’s celebrate Dr. Seuss with a visit to Seussville  and see what else we can learn about his wonderful books.

Written and photographed by Mary Gilmartin, March 2, 2013

14 Comments

Filed under Authors

14 responses to “Authors, Dr. Theodor Seuss Geisel (1904-1991)

  1. I have always loved Seuss! I recently posted that he writes what goes on inside my head. That’s why I have always loved him. He captures the world at least I would love to be a part of!

  2. And one of the last, published a year before his death, but certainly not the least: “Oh, the Places You’ll Go!” A source of encouragement for all of us; also makes an excellent graduation gift at any age!

  3. Love Dr. Seuss. It’s part of my happy childhood . What’s amazing is that my son reads them now and he enjoys them too.

  4. rimassolosailingaroundtheworldm

    Thank you so much Mary!
    I am really like it your blog,please stop on my blog soon I am leaving around the world in May of 2013 from Washington state. Now Iam in Astoria,Or visiting my friend and some time Harbor marina too.

  5. Thank you so much for letting me know that is it is Dr. Seuss’s birthday. I am celebrating because he was the one who inspired me to read. I still quote “Sam I am….” And what we do without “Green Eggs and Ham!”

  6. Yes, the first lines of this book capture your attention (the mark of a good writer). It’s a great story..Here’s a view on Suess’ website(it’s the 3rd video after you enter): http://www.seussville.com/?section=home&isbn=&catalogID=&eventID=#/videopage And, it was made into a movie that I watched recently with my grandson (here’s the trailer): http://www.imdb.com/video/imdb/vi1823605017/

  7. I really like the quote from “Horton Hears A Who” – I never read these books as a child, I think I have missed something good.

Leave a Reply

