Winter, Snow Cream

Snow is something that sometimes visits where I live. However, this year we had none. But, that still doesn’t keep me from thinking about the day a couple of years ago when there was enough to make “Snow Cream.”

Warm Fireplace Feb 19 2013-R-S copy

How to make snow cream-2011 copy

The directions for making “Snow Cream” are simple. The first thing you will want to do is collect some fresh flakes of snow and fill a tall glass. Then, stir in just enough milk or cream for the desired consistency; add sugar and “pure vanilla extract” to taste. Then, the next thing you will want to do is to eat it immediately before it melts and becomes slush.

Then you can sit down by a warm fire and “read” another chapter of that book you want to finish. That’s exactly what I am doing tonight.  It’s freezing outside.

Written and Photographed by Mary Gilmartin, February 20, 2013

18 Comments

Filed under Writing

18 responses to “Winter, Snow Cream

  1. Pit

    Hi Mary,
    No way to make snow cream down here in southern Texas! 😉 But we do like a wonderfully comforting fire at this time of the year, even if it not always necessary.
    Best regards,
    Pit

    • Agreed, still no snow this year. But, thought I saw a few snowflakes last night. Right now it’s up to 46 degrees with another cold night in 20’s expected. Last night had another fire in the fireplace with temperatures dropping to low 20’s ovenight. Sometimes hot Atlanta does get cold in the winter. Thanks for visiting, come back again and see what’s happening.

  2. Pingback: My view today | CATERPICKLES

  3. We have had so much snow here in Massachusetts this month that my husband has been able to experiment with lots of variations on snow cream. The best is the classic with condensed milk and a touch of vanilla. But maple extract (which he was forced to use once we ran out of vanilla) turns out to be surprisingly good too. Skim milk is no good. If you’re going to make snow cream, go ahead and use milk with fat in it.

    • I believe that this year all the snow was dropped in the Northeast. So, the next time we get some down here I’ll try using the maple extract. It sounds yummy. Pure maple syrup is one of my favorites, especially on pancakes. And, you are correct Snow Cream must be made with whole milk and of course, fresh snow, with adding pure vanilla extract and sugar making it a real winter treat! Thanks for dropping by and come visit again soon. Keep writing because that is what I do every day with my focus on finishing my next book before I start another.

  4. That sounds delicious. At home we make crushed ice with evaporated milk or condense milk, them put sweet creamed corn, shredded cantaloupe, even mangoes.

  5. I had never heard of this – when it snows next I will be sure to have some vanilla extract to hand – I guess brandy would work well too 🙂

    • Now, that’s a great idea I never thought of, adding brandy. Yum, sounds good; and, now I wonder if Bailey’s Irish Cream would work well, too; or maybe rum. If not, I can just stick with the original recipe. Here’s a toast to the snow!

  6. Well, what I great idea! We still have snow enough for this! 🙂
    Lovely photography, Mary.
    Love Dina

    • I guess sometimes we wish for things we don’t have, like snow. Maybe next year I’ll take a trip to where I can find some to enjoy another snow cream. The comment below has presented a twist on this recipe.

  7. Well this certainly would have been possible today – it’s snowed all day and into the evening.

  8. We rarely get a deep enough snow to make snow cream, but your blog brings back memories of times when we used to! Thanks! http://ohtheplaceswesee.com

    • You’re welcome and it’s those memories that are still the best ones, fresh in our minds. I was first introduced to snow cream when I was a small child. Back in those days the snow was not three inches, but six feet tall or at least that’s how I remember it.

  9. Yum. I live in Northern Wisconsin. Plenty to of snow around here. This will be made tomorrow for sure!

Leave a Reply

