Authors, Pearl Buck and her Russian Apple Pie

Pearl Buck, The  Good Earth, Recipe 003 copyReading a brief biography about Pearl Syndenstricker Buck , (1892 to 1973), I learned that she spoke both English and Chinese from childhood and her parents were missionaries in China. When she moved permanently back to the United States, she settled in an old  farmhouse, Green Hills Farm, in Bucks County, Pennsylvania.

The Good Earth was one of my favorite books to read when I was a young girl.  It was Pearl Buck’s second novel and won the Pulitzer Prize and the Howells Medal in 1935. She won the 1938  Nobel Prize in literature.

Today I found my copy of an article with one of her recipes in my want-to-try recipe folder.

Pearl Buck, The  Good Earth, Recipe 001

Perhaps the next time I make dessert I will try making her Russian Apple Pie recipe from the published article in the Yankee magazine, printed on page number 20,  September 2001 written by Leslie Patterson Miller, under the heading of “Recipe With A History.” 

Pearl Buck’s Russian Apple Pie:

Pastry for a 2-crust pie. 8 large apples, peeled and sliced;

1/2 cup raisins, 1/2 cup sugar, 2 tablespoons dry red wine, 2 teaspoons grated orange rind, 4 tablespoons chopped almonds, 2 tablespoons cherry jam or currant jelly.

 Line a 9-inch pie plate with pastry. Heat the oven to 350 degrees. In a medium saucepan combine the sliced apples, raisins, sugar, wine, orange rind, and almonds. Cook over low heat for 15 minutes, gently stirring once or twice. Remove from the heat and stir in the jam or jelly.  Cool.  Spoon the cooled mixture into the bottom crust and cover with a top crust.

Bake for 45 minutes.  8 servings.

Written by Mary Gilmartin, February 15, 2o13

15 Comments

Filed under Authors

15 responses to “Authors, Pearl Buck and her Russian Apple Pie

  1. I read The Good Earth when I was young (but old enough to read in English, my second language) and I loved the book. Nice you’ve found a recipe here. I’ll definitely try it.

  2. Dear Mary,
    thank you so much for visiting my blog. I like your blog very much, too. Well, so much that I linked your blog with my article about apples & eccentrics in Cambridge.
    Have a great weekend
    Klausbernd

  3. Pingback: Appels, Porters and Eccentrics in Cambridge « kbvollmarblog

  4. Genie

    I think the almonds would be an interesting addition to apple pie; I love adding chopped nuts in baking but had not thought of that with apple pie.

    • Yes, nuts inside does add another dimension. Ever since I posted this I’ve been thinking about apple pie, but mostly about the traditional one with cinnamon, one of my favorite ingredients that is missing from this recipe. If you try this one as it’s written, proceed with caution because they are too many variables, i.e. what kind of wine (I would think using a good one with sweetness perhaps Russian brand, since that’s its name) and what type of apples to use?(granny smith or others). I’m sure your selection of these types would make the difference in whether you liked it or not.

  5. I can’t picture exactly what the pie might taste like, but it sounds intriguing. I also might try it someday. .

    • I guess we will just have to try making it to find out what it tastes like. Some of the ingredients aren’t typical to the American apple pie, thus probably how the name Russian came about in this recipe. Perhaps testing it by making 1/2 filling to see if I like, is a suggestion.

  6. I have saved the recipe. Nice to have a history to go with it! Thank you sharing.
    Have a lovely weekend.

  7. Excellent post!! I always learn something new when I stop by. Thank you…

  8. Very interesting recipe. I think I might have to try it. Also enjoyed the info on Pearl S. Buck. Never knew her middle name.

Leave a Reply

