Valentine’s Day Poetry

Love 02-13-2013

Love is like a tree

It starts as a seed

You plant it you nurture it

And let it grow

And soon enough it becomes a gigantic

creation of life

Its branches wrap around you

It can stand through the heaviest thunderstorm

It changes with each season

But it eventually becomes something solid

you can count on

“Love” by Jennifer Gilmartin, Age 15

 Anthology of Poetry by Young Americans – 1993 Edition, Page 31

Note: This poem written by my oldest daughter reminds me of her birthday and Valentine’s Day. I think she’s grateful she was born on the 13th instead of the 14th of February, because I might have named her Valentino. Today she is known by the name Jamarie and if you click on her name, you will see what a lovely person she has become.

Written and Photographed by Mary Gilmartin, February 13, 2013

12 Comments

Filed under Holidays

12 responses to “Valentine’s Day Poetry

  1. Thank you for your comment. Love that come from the heart is the purest kind of all and your postings about your family tell the story of that wonderful bond.

  2. A love that will stand the test of time and all forms of weather. Beautiful post that truly comes from the heart.

  3. Very beautiful poem! My delayed Valentine’s Day greetings. I was three days in the North visiting Arctic Circle and world’s biggest snow castle.

  4. What a lovely poem! Happy Valentine’s Day.

  5. It’s a beautiful poem! =^.^=

  6. Totally awesome…I LOVE trees so this is just PERFECT!

    • Thanks for visiting. This poem is one of my favorites. It reminds me of when I was inspired to write poetry at a very young, the same age that you are now.Maybe I’ll post one of my poems that I wrote a long time.

Leave a Reply

