Authors, Shel Silverstein (1930 –1999)

Born in Chicago, Illinois, Shel Silverstein began writing and drawing at a young age. He became a cartoonist, playwright, poet, performer, recording artist and a Grammy-winning, Oscar-nominated songwriter and best known as the author of several popular children’s books.  Awards: Grammy Award, Best Country Song for “A Boy Named Sue,” 1969; Grammy Award, Best Recording for Children for Where the Sidewalk Ends in 1984 (Source: Encyclopedia.com)

In my home library shelved in the children’s section, I have 3 books written and illustrated by Shel Silverstein:

Shel Silverstein books-1 copyBook 1: Where The Sidewalk Ends: My copy printed in 1974 was one of the first book of poems that  my daughter learned to read as a child back in the 90’s and it became her favorite book.  Inside on pages 16 to 17 of this book is one of his poems: “Ickle Me, Pickle Me, Tickle Me Too.”  It’s a fun read. On Shel Silverstein’s official website you will find a wonderful animated performance of this (click the name of this book) or  ShelSilversteinBooks’s youtube channel.

Book 2: The Giving Tree: Shel Silverstein books-2 copy I recently purchased my copy, printed in 1992 from the original 1964 version, when someone mentioned that this was his favorite Shel Silverstein book when he was a little boy. Now, after having read it I can say, “it’s now my favorite book and I enjoy reading it often.”

Shel Silverstein books-3 copyBook 3: Falling Up: This is the  last book of poetry collection by Shel Silverstein  published in 1996, three years before his death.  Inside the covers you will find over a hundred poems with drawings. One of these poems on page 147 reminds me of the race I played when I was a kid. The title is “The Sack Race” and it goes like this: “Yes, it’s time for the sack race. Yes, I’m ready to go. Yes, it’s my first sack race. How did you know…?” And, if you know children who don’t like to pick up their toys, perhaps if they watch The Toy Eater” (click the name of this book)…it might change their minds.  This poem can be found on page 77 in the book “Falling Up” by Shel Silverstein.

Now that you have learned something about this author by reading this, you might just want to visit the Shel Silverstein’s official website where you can find more information about his other books.

Written and Photographed by Mary Gilmartin, February 3, 2013

15 Comments

Filed under Authors

15 responses to “Authors, Shel Silverstein (1930 –1999)

  1. hey was a brilliant man, and his work will hold up through the ages. z

  2. Shel Silverstein is one of my favorite authors. I loved The Giving Tree, which is now my daughter’s favorite. 🙂

  3. I think you have enlightened us all about ‘A Boy Named Sue’. I’ll have to check out some more of his work.

  4. I agree, it’s one of those books once read – it does stay with you and one that you do remember.

  5. I read The Giving Tree as a child and it meant so much to me. One book that stayed with me through the years. Love the post! And – I too did not know about A Boy Named Sue – makes sense though 🙂

  6. I Love Shel Silverstein, while I only read one of his books, I really enjoyed his songs, one of my favorites was “Sarah Cynthia Sylvia Stout (Would Not Take The Garbage Out)”

    As a fan of your blog I would like to nominate you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award. If you wish to accept (and I won’t be offended if you don’t) here are the rules: 1) display the award logo, 2) link back to the person giving the award, 3) state 7 things about you, 4) list 15 blogs that you wish to nominate, 5) notify these bloggers of the award and the rules. Go here to see the person that awarded me: http://shopwithintent.com/ HAPPY BLOGGING

    • I think Shel Silverstein is the one who should get the award. Thanks for the nomination, but I don’t participate in them. However, I still have Peru on my bucket list. Who knows maybe I will make it down there one day.

  7. The Giving Tree is one of my all time favorite books. I am at the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators Winter Conference at the moment, and we were just discussing Shel Silverstein. What an incredible storyteller. Thanks for sharing. I will have to visit his website now!

  8. That’s a surprise – I always assumed “A Boy Named Sue” was written by Johnny Cash. Very interesting post.

Leave a Reply

