Tea, African Red Roobis

1-Twinnings Red Tea copy copy

I started drinking African Red Roobis when I discovered it at a coffee shop. Then, after five years passed, it was no longer available. That’s when I started buying the Twinnings label that I can easily find in stores in the United States.

Nowadays my office is not located twenty-five miles from home and I find myself taking breaks to drink a hot cup when I  feel the need to “boost my energy level”. Red tea, also known as Rooibos (pronounced roy-boss) is a cross between herbal  and black tea. It is the only tea product that is naturally caffeine free and high in antioxidants. And, if you like sugar in your tea, you might want to try Teavana’s German Rock Sugar, unrefined sugar crystals.

And, if you live in England or other countries where they perhaps have tea at a certain time every day, then you might think of me when you do.  In my first book, Adventures with Easton, The Magical Journey, my main character, Easton, shares a cup of tea with his father who reminisces about growing up in London where his mother served tea promptly at 4 o’clock every day.

On the other hand, Red and Herbal “teas” aren’t teas at all, but herbal infusions made from the Rooibos bush, in the case of Red tea, or from fruits, flowers and other plants for Herbal teas. All teas are born from the Camellia sinensis plant and once picked, the leaves are treated to different processes on their way to becoming Black, Oolong, Green or White tea. Perhaps you can find “a tea that’s just your type” at Twinnings .

WRITER’S TIP FOR STRETCHING: Before I go back upstairs to work in my office after taking a break, I make sure to walk up and down the stairs at least four times.  I’ve found that if I step up two steps at a time when going “up” and hold the handrail, I can get a long stretch. Stair climbing stretches are good aerobic exercise releasing the tightness in those hip and upper leg muscles caused by sitting too long in a chair in front of a desktop computer. (Now, it’s time to post this and get back to work &  finish writing book 2)

Written and Photographed by Mary Gilmartin, January 31, 2013

9 Comments

Filed under Books, Writing

9 responses to “Tea, African Red Roobis

  1. elkemurphy

    Hi Mary – Thank you for mentioning rooibos tea, my favorite! Not many people know it. I was first introduced to this lovely, red tea full of antioxidants but low on caffeine (or no?) way back in Germany by a friend who had brought it back from South Africa. I fell in love with it then for the taste, but also because you can drink it like black tea with milk and sugar for 4 o’clock tea time, but don’t have the problem of not sleeping at night…

  2. Pingback: Tea and Productivity | ROUTE TO KAIZEN : A QUEST FOR PERFECTION

  3. “Welcome to the club”…. I believe rooibos is known as redbush tea in some countries.

  4. A while back I discovered that rooibos is an ingredient in Good Earth original flavor caffeine-free tea, but not in the “original” original, if you can decipher that. Anyhow, the point is that when I first tasted it I was hooked. The “organic original” also has rooibos. The first time I saw it I had to look it up as I had never heard of it and had no idea what it was. Now I feel like an official member of the “club” LOL.

  5. Excellent exercise advice Mary, trouble is our house has no stairs 🙂

    • And, for those who don’t have access to stairs, I suggest what I tried this morning: find a chair/high stool and then alternate each leg for a good stretch. The motion of leaning over and holding for a few seconds perhaps can accomplish the same benefit. Of course there is nothing better than getting outside for a breath of fresh air around new surroundings. Scheduling weekly walks from one to three miles at least 3 times a week will keep you fit. And, don’t forget to stretch…

  6. Sounds like a good idea. Thought I had some Masala chai, but when I looked I couldn’t find it. Guess it’s time to go shopping and replenish my cupboard.

  7. Think I`ll go rooting in the cupboard – sure I`ve got some China tea somewhere …

Leave a Reply

