Miniature Chair Museum, Stone Mountain, Georgia

6-Chair GalleryEveryone is passionate about collecting something.  Mine is “old books” and the older the better.

The other day I discovered a unique gallery on Main Street in the Village of Stone Mountain, Georgia. In all the rooms of this historic 1850 Circa house turned into a gallery I found thousands of “miniature chairs”.

One of my favorites was the yellow chair where Charlie Brown is sitting and reading a book. The character, Charlie Brown, first appeared in 1947, three years before Peanuts started, in a comic strip by Charles M. Schulz called Li’l Folks.

Barbara Hartsfield, Owner, of Collectible & Antique Chair Gallery 1-Chair Gallerystarted collecting miniature chairs over a ten-year period until it reached over 3,000 pieces.  That’s when she decided she wanted to show them to the public by opening a gallery. She even made the Guinness World Records for the largest collection of miniature chairs on the 13th of March 2008 receiving a certificate of documentation.

My tour of the gallery took me through a world of miniature chairs grouped by themes like Coca-Cola, Leisure and Jungle. There are holiday groupings like Easter, Fourth of July, Memorial Day, Thanksgiving and a year-round Christmas tree decorated with more than 100 different miniature chair ornaments. And, the collection even includes chair earrings.

You must see it to believe it”-  Collectible & Antique Chair Gallery.

3-Chair Gallery

7-Chair Gallery

Written and Photographed by Mary Gilmartin, January 20, 2013

15 Comments

Filed under Atlanta, Museums

15 responses to “Miniature Chair Museum, Stone Mountain, Georgia

  1. I forgot to provide the online website the read the Chair Museum article, http://www.HometownNewsAtlanta.com. Select Tucker Times. I’m on page #5.

    • Great article. Your minature museum is definitely a place to visit and a “must see it, to believe it.” I’ll visit again sometime soon to see more of your collection from A-Z.

  2. Thanks feedback on the chairs. The musuem is featured in the March edition of the Tucker times. The Gallery cont. to make history. The February Wilkie family reunion was a great success. They will be featured in the April Tucker Times. The family took a picture on the Gallery porch, similar to the one their ancestors took on the same porch in1892. Both pictures are displayed in the Gallery.

  3. Your posts are enjoyable to read – packed with information and coupled with photos that keep the eye intrigued. I’m taking notes. And if I become a better blogger, I have you to thank. 🙂

    • Thanks for the compliment. I try to keep them short and on a variety of subject with photography and limit posting to once a week or when inspired. Most of my time is focused on completing the writing for my second book of the trilogy and a children’s book that I hope to have out before the summer.

      • You definitely have the secret ingredient. I’ve always preferred short and to the point. Images hold interest. Congrats on the book and the up and coming release of your new one. Looking forward to following your work. 🙂

  4. The miniature chairs are adorable. I especially liked the earring holder chairs. I have a vague memory of having a somewhat similar earring holder when I was a teen-ager.

  5. Interesting concept to collect mini chairs. . . There used to be a Teddy Bear Museum in Naples, Florida that my family would take me to (and I loved) when I was younger. I was such a nerd! 😉

  6. Have tried most of my life NOT to collect things. Am always amazed at the ability of people who can amass great treasure troves of a particular object. The few things I did collect usually suffered from lack of interest after I reached about 10 of a category.

  7. How fun! When I was in college, I worked weekends at the Toy and Miniature Museum in Kansas City. I have dusted many a miniature chair. 🙂

  8. The last photo gives nice idea.

  9. Fascinating – this is part of a long tradition of miniature furniture production either for salesmen to carry as ‘samples’ or by apprentice cabinet makers to demonstrate their skills. I am not sure I would collect chairs but miniature chest of drawers are not only attractive but have can have a practical use. Thanks for the interesting post Mary – it made me think.

Leave a Reply

