The World of Coca-Cola, Atlanta, Georgia

In 1886 the world of Coca-Cola began in Atlanta, Georgia. Dr. John Stith Pemberton, a pharmacist created a distinctive tasting soft drink that could be sold at soda fountains from a flavored syrup.  His partner and bookkeeper, Frank M. Robinson, is credited with naming the beverage “Coca-Cola” as well as designing the trademarked, distinct script.

To end my holiday vacation this December, I traveled downtown to enjoy a brisk walk around Pemberton Place. If you ever visit Atlanta you might want to add this to your list and take the tour to learn more about the wonderful world of “Coca-Cola”.

Coca-Cola Pemberton Place-4

Coca-Cola Pemberton Place-3

The 2012  holidays will be over soon.  After I review the list of things that I wanted to accomplish this year, I will remember not to cross off those I didn’t finish but, simply move them over to my new list. Have safe travel and celebrate life’s blessings “every day” of the year.

Happy New Year 2013 !

Coca-Cola Pemberton Place-1

Written and Photographed by Mary Gilmartin, December 29, 2o12

9 Comments

Filed under Atlanta, Corporations

9 responses to “The World of Coca-Cola, Atlanta, Georgia

  1. Pingback: The Carillon in the Park « Mary Gilmartin

  2. elatlboy

    Great place to go and walk around outside during the holiday season. Love seeing all the oversized bulbs.

  3. Yes, and Coca‑Cola is now sold in over 200 countries throughout the world and it’s interesting that it all started right here in the USA in my hometown, Atlanta.

  4. Well, Coca Cola was imported for the first time to Finland in 1952 and then we had summer Olympic Games in Helsinki. 🙂

    Great post.

  5. Thanks for the lesson on Coca-Cola. My biggest adjustment when my daughter went to school in Georgia was that I couldn’t get Pepsi anywhere!

    Nancy

  6. I like your idea of moving the items from 2012 to 2013!! A life affirming strategy and one that I will put I place this New Year!! Thank you….

  7. JasmineKyleSings

    Thanks for the Coca Cola History Lesson!! Happy New Year to you to!!!

Leave a Reply

