What is a Visionary?

The Long Road  www.marygilmartin.meWhat is a visionary? by Mary Gilmartin

     Is it being unrealistic, impracticable, quixotic, fanciful, unworkable and idealistic?

Or, could it possibly be far-sighted, imaginative, creative, prophetic, prescient or original?

    I lean towards the imaginative side of things.

Being original, creative, artistic and resourceful are things that excite me.

A lot of people think of me as an inspirational person, full of life and ingenious.

I agree with that, but add being effective and active is what I am all about too.

After-all, isn’t  writing a form of expressing yourself as well as talking?

Written by  Mary Gilmartin  6 December, 2012

Old Plantation by www.marygilmartin.me

A Late Walk

When I go up through the mowing field, The headless aftermath, Smooth-laid like thatch with the heavy dew, Half closes the garden path. And when I come to the garden ground, The whir of sober birds Up from the tangle of withered weeds Is sadder than any words A tree beside the wall stands bare, But a leaf that lingered brown, Disturbed, I doubt not, by my thought, Comes softly rattling down. I end not far from my going forth  By picking the faded blue  Of the last remaining aster flower  To carry again to you.
__Robert Frost

Written and Photographed by Mary Gilmartin, December 6, 2012

3 Comments

Filed under Writing

3 responses to “What is a Visionary?

  1. The wooden path laid out for you, has benches too along the sides are fallen leaves that are undisturbed by movement of feet.

Leave a Reply

