Cable Car Ride to Top of Stone Mountain

When I entered the gate to Stone Mountain Park this afternoon I didn’t know I would be riding the Summit Skyride’s Swiss cable car to the top. The attendant told me that today was their anniversary and it would only cost me “1/2 a buck.” What a deal – how could I refuse. The cable car towers more than 825 feet above ground taking you to the top where you can see the Atlanta skyline and more.

Just as I clicked the button to take a photo of the carving the blue cable car passed by.

Today’s anniversary brought music to the top of the mountain by the  Atholl Highlanders Pipes & Drums USA. Let me introduce you to “Geno and Janice. “

The afternoon sun in my face made it hard to photograph the Atlanta skyline along with the haze. I’m surprised this zoomed one turned out because I could not see what I was doing.
View just above the walk-up trail.  It’s a great path to take instead of taking the cable car.
Some saw the view while others took photographs. One girl in shorts talked on her phone the entire time.

Here’s Snow Mountain. It comes every year during the holidays.

Now, back on the cable car before they close for the day. The sun will be going down soon.

Written and Photographed by Mary Gilmartin, November 28, 2012

6 Comments

Filed under Atlanta, Photography, Writing

6 responses to “Cable Car Ride to Top of Stone Mountain

  1. Very interesting to see these photos. My favorite is the fifth from the top.

  2. Amy

    Great photos! That was such a gorgeous blue sky. Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

