Books,The Complete Peanuts, Charles M. Schulz (1950-1954)

The Complete Peanuts, Charles M. Schulz, comic strips printed in two volumes placed on a shelf at the checkout counter of my local library now has a new home. I like it when I find a donated book of interest and buy it because it helps support our library system. Now I have another set of books to add to my collection.

The forward is written by Walter Cronkite with the introduction by Garrison Keillor. I like the characters in Schulz’s comic strips for that period: Charlie Brown, Lucy and Snoopy.

Just bringing these books home today prompted me to find my old Snoopy doghouse. It still had the pennies I dropped in it decades ago.

Charles Monroe Schulz ,(1922-2000), nicknamed Sparky, the creator of Peanuts was one of the most successful American comic strips in the twentieth century, read daily by millions of people around the world. Over the 50 years period of “Peanuts” publication, Schulz drew more than 18,000 strips.

2- Peanuts 1950-1954

“You’re the only person I know who can use up a whole day in five minutes”__

 “Peanuts, Charles M. Schulz (1954)”

(click on the comic strip for a clear view)

Written and Photographed by Mary Gilmartin, November 15, 2012

2 Comments

Filed under Books

2 responses to “Books,The Complete Peanuts, Charles M. Schulz (1950-1954)

  1. Snoopy is an old friend for generations. Over here the Peanuts strips is known as “Snobben”, which also is what Snoopy is called, never understood the use of translating names.

  2. I can imagine many hours will be spent poring over these lovely volumes, it would be hard to put them down. My favourite was always Linus.

Leave a Reply

