Art, Georgia O’Keeffe (1887-1985)

Georgia O’Keeffe, an American Artist, has many paintings credited to her name.

One of my favorites is her oil painting on canvas: “Red Poppy, 1927″…

“Still-in a way-nobody sees a flower-really-

it is so small-we haven’t time-

and to see takes time, like to have a friend takes time.”

__Georgia O’Keeffe

(click on the photograph above to get a better view)

Note: Even though the original is privately owned,  I feel fortunate to have a magazine copy of it, tacked on my bulletin board, in my office. It’s been hanging up there for a long time: the advertisement date is 1988.  Perhaps I’ll frame it and hang it on my wall.

Written and Photographed by Mary Gilmartin, November 11, 2012

4 Comments

Filed under Art

4 responses to “Art, Georgia O’Keeffe (1887-1985)

  1. Thanks, Marylin. Did you get a photograph of this view with her print attached to the tree? The town of historic Taos and the ranch for the novelist, D. H. Lawrence must have been a great visit. Have you read any of his books?

  2. Georgia O’Keeffe is one of my favorite artists. Outside Taos, at the D.H. Lawrence ranch, is one of her prints, framed and attached to the tree, to show the view she painted. Wonderful post!

  3. What a lovely painting to consider on this special day. Thank you…

    • I adore Georgia O’Keeffe! I saw a documentary about her years ago at the Vancouver Art Gallery – her art was displayed along with Emily Carr and Freida Kalo – and I remember she said “Everyone asks me why I paint my flowers so big but no one asks why I paint trees small.” (approximate quote).

Leave a Reply

