Jim’s rescued Papillons Dogs

Have you ever meet someone, just in passing, and say hello?  Of course you have.  Sometimes you may exchange a couple of words and that’s the end of  it. Or, perhaps a couple of days later your paths cross again.  Well, that’s exactly what happened this morning. I parked my car in the parking lot near the walk-up trail. That’s when I saw a gentleman preparing to get into his car. I recognized him as the man who was walking his dog along the railroad track when he said to me, “It’s a Beautyberry.” … “Thank you,” I replied.

Today’s Story :”Hello,” I greeted the gentleman. “I remember you from a couple of days ago when I photographed the berries near the railroad tracks.”… “Yes,” Jim replied.  After introductions we talked about his two small dogs in his car.   I learned they are both female Papillon and have Greek names.

WORDPRESS Mimi (Persephone) Photo 1

Persephone (No Nickname): “Persephone is 10 yrs old. Persephone I rescued as a puppy.  She was in a box with 4 other puppies.  She has no nickname.  She is the smartest dog I have ever owned. She understands much of what she’s told.  She also likes to run with me in the mornings and pouts if we can’t run because of rain.”

Asterope (Nicknamed Mimi): WORDPRESS Asterope-Phot 2 (Star Face-Aster Flower)  “Mimi is 9 years old. She was rescued from the puppy mill*. Mimi was thrown into a dumpster and left to die.  Fortunately some wonderful people found her and took her to a shelter where she was cared for and made well.

Other Papillons: “We have had other papillons.  Hercules was our first.  Then Persephone, then Phoebe, then Athena, then Asterope (Mimi). All the names are Greek gods or goddesses.  All were rescues except for Hercules. Hercules was a show dog. Phoebe was our laughing dog.  She came from a puppy mill also.”

(Readers) *If you don’t know what puppy mill means: It’s when a breeder uses a dog to produce puppies and discards them when they are no longer needed.  The dog sometimes ends up in the dumpster,  just like Mimi did. This is one of the cruelest things I can image and I have heard it happens often. We are grateful for those who rescue.

Written by Mary Gilmartin, August 23, 2012

2 Comments

Filed under Dogs

2 responses to “Jim’s rescued Papillons Dogs

  1. Puppy mills. Where does one even start to unwrap the brains of beings who dump other living being who have faithfully served their monetary purposes. I

    • It bewilders me that humans have this trait, but it happens. Thanks for commenting and visiting. I’m glad there are others who rescue and have compassion.