Authors, Daphne du Maurier

Do you sometimes wonder about the author of a book?  Well, I do. So, today I decided to research and find out something about the author that wrote, Rebecca

It’s the one book that I will always list when asked: What is your favorite book?

The first edition published in 1938, but the one that I have is from 1942. It’s  a blue hardback with the inside pages yellowed with age. I found it in a yard sale decades ago.

The previous owners initials,  N.E.W., are in the front. Ironic, isn’t it?.. as this book is definitely not new… (the cover actually fell off – Guess it’s time to bring out the glue jar).

You will find an overview about the author on the DuMaurier Organization’s  homepage, website .  There is also posted an interesting article  about Daphne du Maurier that gives the reader more insight into her life as an author.

Have you seen the movie  they made about this book?  If not, you should see this classic that was released in 1940. It’s a mystery, adventure and romance  starring Laurence Olivier and Joan Fontain.  The director was Alfred Hitchcock. How much better can it get? A great movie to watch on a rainy, cold winter’s night.

And, don’t forget about audio tapes. They are a great time saver when you can’t sit down and read.  I listen to them often while driving in my car alone. I like to see the written words in print, so I keep the book handy and look up the section I have just listened to. Your local libraries are great places to visit for audio tapes and books.

Perhaps I’ll put one of Daphne du Maurier’s other books House on the Strand   on my to-read list.

Written by Mary Gilmartin, August 15, 2012

6 Comments

Filed under Authors

6 responses to “Authors, Daphne du Maurier

  1. I really like to go back and read or re-read the classics now and again, while my friends are talking about the latest James Patterson – guess I don’t exactly fit in…

    • You just reminded me that I need to read House on the Stand by Daphne du Maurier. And, James Patterson has written a lot of books, maybe I need to add him to my list and read his new book, Mistress.

      • I found his earlier mysteries to be excellent, but the faster he “wrote” with his co-writers, the more mundane they became.

  2. Actually, I think I may have Rebecca as part of my inheritance from my mother. Spooky film.

    In a similar vein, have you seen Gaslight ? Very good. Interesting JF also did Frenchman’s Creek, and also Jane Eyre, the latter obv not DDM but similar era.

    • I haven’t seen those other movies, so it looks like I have some catching up to do for other Daphne du Maurier books made into movies in 1944 and others from that era.

      • I was thinking about the era rather than the author specifically, so Gaslight was an adaptation of play by Hamilton (I think), Jane Eyre was obviously Bronte. Just they all had this slight undercurrent of, something. I haven’t seen any of them for ages. I am more booky than filmy.

Leave a Reply

