What Motivates You To Write?

Time to Start Work

What Motivates You To Write? by Mary Gilmartin

The word motivates according to the U.S. English Thesaurus is a verb. Its meaning inspires, stimulates, encourages, persuades, provokes, arouses, influences, prompts, induces, causes, spurs, impels, activates, moves and egg on.

Of course, this word by itself,  isn’t going to write that story you have inside of you. What you have to do is combine it with all the things around you that work. So let’s ask the following questions and you figure it out. Remembering to stay focused is what’s important!  YOU are in charge of  YOUR DESTINY. So, get up and start writing. Finish that project!

Here’s the questions:

What is your answer to what motivates you?

What inspires you?

How are you stimulated?

Who encourages you?

Do you or others persuade you?

What internal thing arouses you?

Who influences your writing?

What prompts you to write and/or draw every day?

Here’s what motivates me:

I am inspired from hearing an interesting story.

I am stimulated by reading books and discovering new things.

Photography is one of my hobbies. When I capture a small object that catches my eye it persuades me to look even closer.

I get excited when I finish one project.

I am influenced by friends and strangers around me.

Taking long walks away from writing helps to recharge my battery.

I am thankful I have a quiet home office and a place to work.

Not having music or noise in the background keeps down any distractions.

Written by Mary Gilmartin, August 3, 2012

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

Leave a Reply

